The Drop

Near the drop of a cliff, my heart fails,
my body refuses to move, I freeze:
‘Why did I follow these narrow trails?’
Caught between the land, sea and breeze.

He gently hauls me up, tells me to focus,
step by step, holds tight on to my hand,
“You can do it, it’s not all hocus-pocus.”
I sense his worry, it’s not as he planned.

Constantly staring down at my shoes,
wearing blinkers; a tunnel vision in force.
My wit backing me along the path I choose,
amid the scent of coconut, vanilla gorse.

“I’d put you in my rucksack, carry you,”
We laugh about my palsy, passing through.

Month of May kuli Kohli

4 thoughts on “The Drop

  1. Bob Ward says:

    This poem evokes a tricky experience most effectively. Did you find that in writing it you became better prepared for similar adventures? You had the courage to admit your (understandable) fears but the outcome was that you got through, so could do again. Despite your anxieties you still noticed the scent of the gorse. The finish strikes a note of triumph which gives a lift to the reader.

    Like

    • Kuli Kohli says:

      Hi Bob, this poem was written after a very scary hike with my husband. I am just glad I came back to write about it. Yes, it taught us a lesson, but I am glad experienced it. The scent of gorse was overwhelming!

      Like

  2. Leaveners says:

    ‘Reminds me of going Coasteering. Trying to force myself to jump over the edge.’ (Ruth, through facebook)

    Like

Comments are closed.