All Trussed Up

Wide eyed horror, why do you look at me
It definitely is, a human child in a cardboard
So here I am on your Facebook post
Pictured a forward, could have been lost
Like a chicken all trussed up,
knees drawn high to chin
Arms tightly wrapped over shin
Brown duct taped, two tight spins
teeny patch plastered over lips
to hold my screams of terror within

You appear aghast and mortified
lifeless scrawny girl, kidnapped from poverty
Snatched from the labyrinth of humanity
You wonder what dividends ever justify
Barbarism scavenging off hapless vulnerability
Another victim marked for human slavery
So tightly bundled up, in pitch darkness I lay
Not even air through my folded limbs
Life snuffed hurriedly, In my cloistered coffin
In vain, for release from my captors I prayed

You look at my south-eastern features
Glossy long bangs, bruised cheekbones
My tears stained face, hue pale
Don’t bother fixing my nationality
Cause I could belong to all humanity
So many more like me regularly preyed
brutally abused by every hand all day
It doesn’t matter whether I died on way
My organs could revive the rich near dead
Or as a sex slave or short lived cheap labor

Lifeless, you wonder why I died
an unclaimed package in a warehouse
What scared off the pickup guy
A cop chase or a barcode crash
or maybe a customs skirmish
that left me cold and shut eyed
Did I come through a ships folds
Or flew in through an aircraft hold
I wish I could share those stories
Had they left me enough to breath

You wonder what I held close, in my terror
Sweet memories of lullaby in a loving home
Or last hours of torture by my bestial perpetrators
Was I from farmlands or countryside’s
Or from gutters bordering suburban shanties
Had I been blessed a roof and school roll
Was I picked playing on sidewalks
Or lost the hand of a well heeled Mom
At a bustling city mall, it doesn’t matter
What could a waif do seven or eight years old

You think aloud, how I could fit
In a brown box just two feet by three
Any child an accomplished contortionist
I could have demonstrated were I alive
And with hands that wrapped me tight
I assure you I could have fitted smaller size
Blood clotted quickly, so tight my confines
you might have to break a few bones
before you straighten my limbs
Stiffened at so many joints, in rigor mortis

You pray for a miracle, my picture never seen
so you don’t have to labor a share or a pause
Cause I couldn’t belong to your relatives
Age and sex no bar, neither the color of currency
A market for free labor, organ and slavery
an unforgiving wilderness around you exists
A depravity unparallel in this world
So my story untold, a mystery for cops to unfold
A prayer is all I seek, let no child be born on earth
to line greedy pockets that sacrifice innocent births.

Seema Jayaraman
Poet of the month December 2015

2 thoughts on “All Trussed Up

  1. cinamonhaldi says:

    Thank you Ciaran Hodgers and Jorine and Poets Corner for your faith, confidence and encouragement. You consider this poem an epic, perhaps but a very painful one and I hope these lines and the message therein is used to fight and banish human and child trafficking..still it would be no justice to the horror that little girl must have undergone but hopefully no one else will have to face that kind of terror caused by human greed ..You have given me a huge launch and I hope I can continue this momentum ..thank you. Seema

    Like

  2. cinamonhaldi says:

    Reblogged this on cinamonhaldi and commented:
    Thank you Ciaran Hodgers and Jorine and Poets Corner for your faith, confidence and encouragement. You consider this poem an epic, perhaps but a very painful one and I hope these lines and the message therein is used to fight and banish human and child trafficking..still it would be no justice to the horror that little girl must have undergone but hopefully no one else will have to face that kind of terror caused by human greed ..You have given me a huge launch and I hope I can continue this momentum ..thank you. Seema

    Like

Comments are closed.