Industrial paleontology (and skeletons of love)

Under the backs of reversed cockroaches
I seem to stand
I seem to dwell in armor of dinosaurs pierced by dawn
this dawn which appears.

But they are only sheds of abandoned factories
remained to mark a passage, a time;
the usual question of time which I can’t stop
I’m not saying forever, but if at least today.

if only I could extinguish myself
at least one hour, mine, adheres to yours
I’d wipe out the biggest disillusion by my illusion
which crossed the border between man and angel.

I tried to live with fury, even in abstinence,
and I still hope for a form of woman for my chaos,
but those buildings in tatters they told me that
and so I raise them to the skeleton of my love
the best monument to what will vaporize.

Danilo Breschi
Poet of the Month April 2016

Want to become our next Poets of the Month? Read about this opportunity here!

