Looking back – Alison

During the month of May 2016 we will be looking back at Poets’ Corner’s first year, together with our Guest Poetry Curators. They will share their own poetry, experiences as curator and favourite poems from the platform with you.

Multi-talented Alison Solomon shared her experience and enthusiasm as Guest Poetry Curator for October and November 2015. Looking back at her experience in this role, Alison writes:

‘My current work as a Casting Director puts me in contact with new and establish talent, and, I also love finding and nurturing new talent. When Leaveners advertised the Poet Curator role I jumped at it because it allowed me to use two of my passions: reading poetry and finding, nurturing and showcasing new talent.

During my time as Guest Poet Curator I was fortunate to work with two very different, but equally talented poets: Ben Armstrong our West Midlands poet and Darius Noel our American poet. In the next posts I will share my Curator’s Pick from both poets.

I am currently working on a commission of poetic storytelling called Jamaican Story Time: Looking Back And Moving Forward, which will be performed as part of Pear Tree Library Centenary, Derby in May. I am also working with a number of actor-writers and actor-singers as a dramaturg and director to develop their work.’

Public poetry in Birmingham
Some of Alison’s work can be read on the walls outside the Bullring in Birmingham City Centre. ( commissioned by Hammerson and Freeform Art Trust and supported by Bullring Birmingham Public Art Programme Small Scale Artworks)

Haiku by Birmingham poet Alison Solomon at the Bull Ring Shopping Centre

Haiku by Birmingham poet Alison Solomon at the Bull Ring Shopping Centre

Follow Alison on Twitter: @AlisonSolomonUK

