Guest Poetry Curator June-July 2016: Kuli Kohli

We are sure you have heard about Kuli Kohli by now; the first ever Poet of the Month at Poets’ Corner, back in May 2015. Kuli’s development to become an established poet has been in a lift over the last year, and she has now decided to share her skills and knowledge with aspiring poets as a Guest Poetry Curator.

Kuli writes: ‘I was curated by Rachel Arnold and was the first poet of the month in May 2015 on Leaveners Poet’s Corner. As the first poet, I really didn’t know what to expect. Poet’s Corner gave me an opportunity to platform my best poems that were showcased to a wider audience online.  I enjoyed the experience and the project as a whole because it gave aspiring poets the chance and confidence to share their work.

After being showcased in May 2015, I have a thriving network of supporters who enjoy reading, writing and listening to poetry. As a result, I have sold many copies of my poetry pamphlet “Rag Doll”; all types of audiences are accepting my work. During 2015 I worked on co-editing a poetry and prose anthology on the theme of identity for Blakenhall Writers Group in Wolverhampton funded by ACE. I have had work performed at live gigs and am a regular blogger for Disability Arts Online.  I have been interviewed live at a gig and some interviews have been published on line. Recently I performed my own work at a live gig, which is a great achievement for me.

I feel that I am now in a position to help an aspiring poet to platform and support their work. I believe it is important for me to give something back and help writers/poets get work out there and knock down barriers because not all poets/writers have the time to put their work to different audiences. This experience will be of great satisfaction in knowing I will be helping someone who’s in the same situation I was in.’

You can read more about Kuli’s work and poetry here, or enjoy her recent poetry reading of ‘Resilience’:

We are thrilled to have Kuli back and are excited to see how she will shape her curatorship during the upcoming two months.

 

